The Magic Formula Video Art

- into new perspectives!

 

ELLA LUGIN / Digital Artist, Video & Photography

Ella Lugin is an emerging Swiss video artist in digital arts and mixed media. In her works she reinterprets elements of nature and urban life. Her works shift the perspective on the way we normally perceive the world. With her poetic view of life and matter, Ella Lugin breaks through our viewing habits. In order to highlight the hidden elements of matter and artistically break up our linear perspective, she uses digital technology.

In the videos' ELEMENTS 'OF NATURE' Ella Lugin wants to symbolize the mysterious energy, the code of life, which is inherent in everything, as the source of all being.

In the videos 'URBAN LIFE and POP', Ella Lugin processes her impressions of everyday life, the fascination of cities, architecture and design objects.

In July 2020 Ella Lugin started in a further creative phase. Inspired by new developments in software for animating videos, the artist succeeds in creating video artworks through which she expresses the philosophical level of her perception. ​The methodical basis of Ella's visual art are self-recorded footage, which are then processed with software programs.

 

The foundation of her art is found through the study and practice of kundalini yoga, pranayama, classical meditation, the mystical philosophies of every religion and culture, Advaita-Vedanta philosophy, tantric spirituality, Buddhist philosophy and quantum physics. 

The main function of philosophy is to tear down false concepts and traditions,

through the most accurate investigations of the 'essence of things and their insubstantiality'.

"​My Video Art deals with the visualization of life energy as well as transforming the matter into new perspectives. My art consists of the energetic view of life and things, strongly inspired by quantum physical research results and my meditative practice and exploration. I translate this into video art and out of it I create single images that have a unique statement of their own. My interests lie in the beauty and mysteria which is internalized in every material form. My videos and pictures are to understand as a parable and invite viewers to open themselves to new viewing habits. I describe myself as an artist whose deepest understanding of life is based on cross-border thoughts, examinations and philosophies.

 

I'm inspired by Emma Kunz, Werner Heisenberg, Osho, Niels Bohr, Christian Thomas Kohl, Jiddu Krishnamurti and many more. The new technologies allow me to playfully deal with the abstraction of supposed reality and serve to express my view of the world and society".

BLOSSOMS & BOTANY


After 15 years of fine art painting, in the year 2000 Ella Lugin began to explore digital photography. Ella places the great variety of botany in the center of her work. Her fine art photography work is designed by careful composition of light. She removes flowers, blossoms and botanics from their natural environment to give them a new interpretation on pure aesthetics and meanings.  Ella creates from blossoms and botanical objects, such as woods, mussels and leaves, portraits of noble beauty and sometimes mysterious aura. Under her gaze, architecturally appealing physiques emerge and surrender their unique beauty. In addition sexual power that creates and and also destroyes life is one of the favorite subjects of  Ella Lugin. Her photo and performing art is characterized by aesthetics and sensuality. Flowers, botany and body as well as the tension between man and woman are in focus of her artistic work.

The petal of the poppy plant unfolds a centered lightness in the work 'Mandala', with leaves that move around the middle like waving silk. In the work 'Animus', the 'concentrated masculinity' of the anthurium blossom, literally appears. Or 'Elevin', a delicate interpretation of the dahlia, reminiscent of the energy of a ballet dancer. The dried-up leaf of a tree not named by the artist from Costa Rica works like a wave that dissolves in spray. Woods, shells, blossoms, leaves, any natural elements that can be isolated, attracts the attention of Ella.  Often she finds her objects at the edge of a road. These objects are tiny and easily overlooked by walking by. By focusing on them, they are raised into immediate tangibility.

Ella Lugin Video Art

- auf zu neuen Sichtweisen!


Ella Lugin ist eine aufstrebende Schweizer Videokünstlerin in digitaler Kunst und Mischtechnik. In ihren Arbeiten interpretiert sie Elemente der Natur und des urbanen Lebens neu. Ihre Arbeiten verschieben die Perspektive auf die Art und Weise, wie wir die Welt normalerweise wahrnehmen. Mit ihrem poetischen Blick auf das Leben und die Materie durchbricht Ella Lugin unsere Sehgewohnheiten. Um die verborgenen Elemente der Materie hervorzuheben und unsere lineare Perspektive künstlerisch aufzubrechen, nutzt sie digitale Technologie.

In den Videos 'ELEMENTS OF NATURE' will Ella Lugin die geheimnisvolle Energie, den Code des Lebens, der allem innewohnt, als Quelle allen Seins symbolisieren.

In den Videos 'URBAN LIFE und POP' verarbeitet Ella Lugin ihre Eindrücke des Alltags, die Faszination von Städten, Architektur und Designobjekten.
 

Im Juli 2020 startete Ella Lugin in eine nächste, kreative Phase. Inspiriert von neuen Entwicklungen im Bereich der Software für Videoanimation gelingt es der Künstlerin, Videokunstwerke zu schaffen, durch die sie die philosophische Ebene ihrer Wahrnehmung zum Ausdruck bringt. Die methodische Grundlage von Ellas  Videokunst sind selbst aufgenommene Filmclips, die dann mit Softwareprogrammen bearbeitet werden.

Die Grundlage ihrer Kunst findet sich durch die Auseinandersetzung und das Praktizieren von Kundalini-Yoga, Pranayama, klassischer Meditation, den mystischen Philosophien jeder Religion und Kultur, in der Philosophie des Advaita-Vedanta, der tantrischen Spiritualität, der buddhistischen Philosophie und Quantenphysik. 

Die hauptsächliche Funktion von Philosophie besteht darin,

falsche Konzepte und Traditionen niederzureissen, durch genaueste

Untersuchungen vom 'Wesen der Dinge und deren Substanzlosigkeit'.

"Meine Videokunst beschäftigt sich mit der Visualisierung von Lebensenergie sowie mit der Transformation der Materie in neue Perspektiven. Meine Kunst besteht aus der energetischen Sichtweise auf das Leben und die Dinge, stark inspiriert durch quantenphysikalische Forschungsergebnisse und meiner meditativen Praxis und Untersuchungen. Dies setze ich in Videokunst um und daraus entstehen Einzelbilder, die für sich eine alleinstehende Aussage haben. Mein Interesse liegt in der Schönheit und dem Mysterium, das in jeder materiellen Form verinnerlicht ist. Meine Videos und Bilder sind als Parabel zu verstehen und laden den Betrachter ein, sich neuen Sehgewohnheiten zu öffnen. Ich bezeichne mich als eine Künstlerin, deren tiefstes Verständnis des Lebens auf grenzüberschreitenden Gedanken, Untersuchungen und Philosophien begründet ist.

 

Inspiriert bin ich von Emma Kunz, Werner Heisenberg, Osho, Niels Bohr, Christian Thomas Kohl, Jiddu Krishnamurti und vielen mehr. Die neuen Technologien gewähren mir den spielerischen Umgang mit der Abstraktion der vermeintlichen Wirklichkeit und dienen dazu, meine Sicht auf die Welt und die Gesellschaft auszudrücken".

BLÜTEN & BOTANIK

 

Als Ella Lugin im Jahr 2000 mit der digitalen Fotografie begann, interessierte sie die Interpretation von Blüten, welche sie zur reinen Ästhetik stilisierte, indem sie diese aus ihrer natürlichen Umgebung entfernte und neu inszenierte. Durch sorgfältige Lichtführung gestaltet, entstanden Blumenportraits von edler Schönheit mit einer zuweilen geheimnisvollen Aura. Das Blütenblatt der Mohnpflanze entfaltet im Werk ‘Mandala’ eine zentrierte Leichtigkeit, mit Blättern, welche sich wie wallende Seide um die Mitte bewegen. Im Werk ‘Animus’ springt uns die ‘geballte Männlichkeit’ der dementsprechend inszenierten Anthuriumblüte förmlich an. Oder ‘Elevin’, eine zarte Interpretation der Dahlie, erinnernd an die Energie einer Ballettänzerin. Das vertrocknete Blatt eines, von der Künstlerin nicht benannten Baumes aus Costa Rica, wirkt in ihrem Werk wie eine Welle, die sich in Gischt auflöst. Hölzer, Muscheln, Blüten, Blätter, jegliche Elemente aus der Natur, welche sich isoliert darstellen können, ziehen die Aufmerksamkeit von Ella Lugin auf sich. Unter ihrem Blick entstehen architektonisch anmutende Körperlichkeiten, die ihre einzigartige Schönheit preisgeben. Oftmals sind die Gegenstände millimeterklein und werden am Wegesrand übersehen. Durch den Fokus auf sie, werden sie in unmittelbare Greifbarkeit erhoben.